25.1 C

Tinubu assigns portfolio to Ministers,Wike is Minister of FCT, Edun,Finance and Economy

Must read

The President,Bola Tinubu on Wednesday unveiled the portfolios of 45 ministers nine days after they were confirmed by the Senate in a week-long screening exercise.

The ministers will be sworn in on by the President at the State House Conference, Aso villa, Abuja on Monday.

A statement on Wednesday by the Director, Information Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Willie Bassey said the ministers could attend the ceremony with two guests each.

Despite the clamour by Abuja natives for an indigene to be appointed as the Federal Capital Territory Minister, former Rivers State governor Nyesom Wike clinched the position. Mariga Mahmoud will work with Wike as the Minister of State, FCT.

On the other hand, an ex-law school director-general, Tahir Mamman heads the education ministry.

Bosun Tijani is the Minister of Communications, Innovation and Digital Economy, Ishak Salako is Minister of State, Environment and Ecological Management while Wale Edun is the Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister Of the Economy.

Also on the list were the Minister of Marine and Blue Economy, Bunmi Tunji-Ojo; Minister of Power, Adebayo Adelabu; Minister of State, Health and Social Welfare, Tunji Alausa; Minister of Solid Minerals Development, Dele Alake; Minister of Tourism, Lola Ade-John while Adegboyega Oyetola was appointed the Minister of Transportation.

To administer the Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment is Doris Anite while Uche Nnaji would hold fort as the Minister of Innovation Science and Technology.

A former lawmaker, Nkiruka Onyejeocha will pilot the affairs of the Ministry of State, Labour and Employment; Uju Kennedy heads the Ministry of Women Affairs and Festus Keyamo is Minister of Aviation and Aerospace Development.

The Minister of Youth is Abubakar Momoh; Minister of Humanitarian Affairs and Poverty Alleviation, Betta Edu; Minister of State, Gas Resources, Ekperikpe Ekpo and Minister of Sports Development, John Enoh.

Others are Minister of Arts, Culture and Creative Economy, Hannatu Musawa; Minister of State Defence, Bello Matawalle; Minister of State, Education, Tanko Sununu; Minister of Housing and Urban Development, Ahmed Dangiwa; Minister of State, Housing and Urban Development, Abdullahi Gwarzo; Minister of Budget and Economic Planning, Atiku Bagudu; Minister of State, Water Resources and Sanitation, Bello Goronyo and Minister of Agriculture, Abubakar Kyari.

Former Yobe governor, Ibrahim Geidam emerged as the Minister of Police Affairs; a former Nigerian ambassador to Germany, Yusuf Tuggar will lead Nigeria’s foreign diplomacy as the Minister of Foreign Affairs.

 Tinubu also appointed Saidu Alkali as the Minister of Interior; Ali Pate as the Coordinating Minister of Health and Social Welfare, Maigari Ahmadu as Minister of State, Steel and Development and Shaibu Audu as Minister of Steel and Development.

The 45-man list included the Minister of Information and National Orientation, Muhammed Idris; Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Lateef Fagbemi, SAN; Minister of Labour and Employment, Simon Lalong; Minister of State, Police Affairs, Inman Suleiman; Minister of Special Duties, Zephaniah Jisalo; Minister of Water Resources and Sanitation, Joseph Utsev and Minister of State, Agriculture and Food Security, Aliyu Abdullahi.

Like his predecessor, the President will head the petroleum ministry while a former Senator, Heineken Lokpobiri, is the Minister of State, Petroleum Resources.

Source: Punch

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article