28.6 C

Dr Ike Neliaku elected President of NIPR

Must read

The Members of the Governing Council of the Nigerian Institute of Public Relations (NIPR) have unanimously elected Dr. Ike Neliaku(fnipr) as its new President at the end of the Institute’s Annual General Meeting in Abuja.

A communication scholar, Professor Emmanuel Dandaura is also to serve as the Vice President.

The Chairman Electoral Commitee, Chief Casca Ogusu made the announcement after the election.

17 Members of the Governing Council of the Institute were earlier elected by registered members at the AGM of the institute

The Institute is run by a 22-member Governing Council made up of 17 elected members and 5 nominees of the Federal Government.

The major contenders for the Presidency of the institute were Dr. Ike Neliaku of FCT Chapter and Mrs. Nkechi Ali-Balogun of Lagos Chapter Chairman who could not make it to the council.

In his acceptance speech, Neliaku said the new council members would use the NIPR platform to chart a new path for the institute, and also re-invent Nigeria.

He said: “Our profession need a new a dimension. We’ll make sure PR is practiced by PR Professionals. We won’t allow our ‘break fast’ to be taken by people that are not trained.

“We’ll take the issue of compliance and enforcement seriously, reinvent our profession for the purpose and the value of the nation.

“Countries that understand the value of the Public Relations always excel , so therefore we are going to rebrand Nigeria.

“As we have our colleague as Minister of Information, who understands strategic communications. We’ll work with him to generate new ideas with support of my team.

“I want to assure that with our collective efforts, we can rewrite, reinvent and review our profession for better in this new dawn,” he concluded.

Results of the NIPR Election on 24th August 2023
Elected 17 Council Members

  1. Dr SuleYau Sule-868 void 20
  2. Ini Ememobong Essien-867 void 3
  3. Dr Ike Neliaku-830 void 10
  4. Bashir Adamu Chedi-815 void 18
  5. Dr Adewale Oladipo Oyekanmi-811 void 23
  6. Okoh Thelma Chika-808 void 22
  7. Kabir Ali Kobi-795 void 3
  8. Adaramola Temitope-788 void 13
    Professor Kate Azuga Ominuga-753 void 11
  9. Dr Saidat Salah Abdulnaqi-713 void 27
  10. Prof Emmanuel Dandaura-695 void 16
  11. Professor Sarah Benjamin Luwahas-673 void 10
  12. Prince Ford Ozumba-656 void 6
  13. Pastor Paulinus Eyinda Nsirim-648 void 2
  14. Olubunmi Adedoyin Badejo-630 void 12
  15. Akin Agbejule-612 void 25.
  16. Bajulaye Adetokunbo-593 void 23
  17. Yakubu Gomos-584 void 3
    Other Candidates
  18. Charles Aniagu-485 void 14.
  19. Sajoh Ahmad Ibrahim -390 void 7
  20. Nkechi Ali-Balogun-375 void 11
  21. Aliyu Umar Aliyu-314 void 13.
  22. Hogan Eyo Bassey-305 void 6
  23. Afolabi Olajuwon-288 void 9.
  24. Lamidi Ishola Kamarudeen- 288 void 8
  25. Sunday Adelabu Adeyemi Adejorin-239 void 7
  26. Samuel Tobih Oseluka-233 void 3
  27. Princely Kingsley Ngunu-208 void

Source: NaijaTimes

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article