25.1 C

Buhari Orders Ministers With Political Ambitions To Resign

Must read

President Muhammadu Buhari has directed that all members of the Federal Executive Council (FEC) running for elective offices to submit their letters of resignation on or before Monday the 16th of May, 2022.

The Minister of information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, disclosed this on Wednesday after the Federal Executive Council meeting.

Those affected are the ministers of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio; Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige; Science, Technology and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu; Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba; Petroleum (State), Timipre Sylva who have all joined the presidential race on the platform of the All Progressives Congress.

Others are the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation Abubakar Malami, who is vying for the Kebbi governor seat; Minister of State Mines and Steel, Uche Ogar, who is running for the governorship position in Abia State, and the Minister of Women Affairs, Pauline Tallen, who declared her ambition to contest for a senatorial seat in Plateau State.

Mr Muhammed stressed that this mandate excludes the Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo because he is an elected member of the cabinet.

He affirmed that any amendment or additions to this directive will be disseminated accordingly. The Minister added that if the need arises, the directive might involve political appointees.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article