28.1 C

Breaking: Akpabio emerges Senate President

Must read

By Victoria Onehi

Senator Godswill Akpabio has been elected President of the 10th Senate following a rowdy session at the red chamber.

Akpabio, a former governor of Akwa-Ibom State and lawmaker from Akwa Ibom North West emerged winner after polling 63 votes.

He was the anointed candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for the seat of number 3 citizen, but was challenged by Senator Abdulaziz Yari from Zamfara North West, who is also of the APC who got 46 votes.

Akpabio was nominated by Ali Ndume (Borno) and seconded by Adeola Olamilekan (Ogun); while Yari was nominated by Elisha Abbo (Adamawa) and seconded by Jimoh Ibrahim.

Senator Godswill Akpabio has already taken the oath of office to become the Senate President of the 10th Assembly. 

Similarly, Senator Jibrin Barau also emerged Deputy Senate President. He was nominated by Senator David Umahii and there was no other nomination afterwards.Barau emerged unopposed.

Jibrin was declared the Deputy Senate President by the Clerk of the House and has taken the oath of office.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article