26 C

Akpabio, Lawan Missing As INEC Publishes List Of 2023 Candidates

Must read

The names of Senate President Ahmad Lawan and Godswill Akpabio, a former Minister, were missing on the list of candidates nominated by political parties for the 2023 general elections.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) published the particulars of the candidates on Friday evening.

Both Akpabio and Lawan contested the presidential primaries of the ruling party won by Asiwaju Bola Tinubu.

While Akpabio had stepped down for Tinubu, Lawan went into the contest where he emerged fourth.

Both men had tried to clinch the senate ticket as a fall back option but they met a brick wall.

In the case of Lawan, Barrister Bashir Machina, who won the APC Primary in Yobe East, vowed not to step down for the Senate President.

In Akwa Ibom, the primaries where DIG Ekpom Udom (rtd) won was was cancelled while a fresh one was conducted and Akpabio was declared winner.

The APC leadership had subsequently sent the names of Lawan and Akpabio to INEC as senatorial candidates for 2023, but the commission omitted their names when it published the 2023 candidates’ list.

The particulars of candidates published included those of presidential candidates, their running mates as well as National Assembly candidates.

The information included that of All Progressives Congress (APC) presidential candidate, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu and his running mate, Mr Ibrahim Masari.

The list also included the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) presidential candidate Alhaji Atiku Abubakar and his running mate, Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa.

Others were Peter Obi, presidential candidate of the Labour Party (LP) and his running mate, Dr. Doyin Okupe; Osita Nnadi, presidential candidate of Action Peoples Party (APP) and his running mate, Isa Hamisu.

Also are Kolawole Abiola, presidential candidate of Peoples Redemption Party (PRP) and his running mate, Ribi Marshal; Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso, presidential candidate of the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) and his running mate, Johnson Oladipupo.

Others were Yabagi Sani, presidential candidate of Action Democratic Party (ADP) and his running mate, Udo Okey -Okoro; Ado-Ibrahim Abdulmalik, presidential candidate, Young Progressives Party (YPP) and his running mate, Enyinna Kasarachi.

The list also includee Omoyele Sowere, presidential candidate African Action Congress (AAC ) and his running mate, Garba Magashi; Mamman Dantalle, presidential candidate of Allied Peoples Movement (APM) and his running mate Ojei Princess; Chukwudi Umeadi presidential candidate of All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) and his running mate Koli Mohammed.

Others were Oluwafemi Adenuga, presidential candidate of Boot Party (BP) and the running mate Turaku Mustapha; Daberechukwu Nwanyanwu, presidential candidate of Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) and the running mate, Ramalan Abubakar; Dumebi Kachikwu presidential candidate, African Democratic Congress (ADC) and his running mate, Ahmed Mani.

Also is Hamza Almustafa, presidential candidate, Action Aliance (AA) and his running mate Chukwuka Johnson among others.

Daily Trust

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article